Home page > Writing and publishing in Africa > Prudential plc and Groupe Nduom support the Caine Prize in Ghana
| More

Prudential plc and Groupe Nduom support the Caine Prize in Ghana

Thursday 2 April 2015

Prudential plc, one of the world’s leading financial services groups, and Groupe Nduom, a family business group of Ghanaian and American origin operating in the financial, hospitality, media and other industries, are the primary supporters of this year’s Caine Prize for African Writing workshop taking place in Ghana this month. The Caine Prize, known as Africa’s leading literary award, has held twelve workshops in Africa since 2003.

Twelve writers from eight African countries will convene at the Coconut Grove Hotel in Elmina for thirteen days (6 April – 18 April) to write, read and discuss work in progress and to learn from two experienced writers, Leila Aboulela, who is a Sudanese author and winner of the inaugural Caine Prize in 1999, and Zukiswa Wanner, a South African novelist and journalist. Both will act as tutors and animateurs.

This year’s participants include Diane Awerbuck (South Africa) and Efemia Chela (Zambia/Ghana) who were shortlisted for the 2014 prize, Onipede Hollist (Sierra Leona) who was shortlisted in 2013, and nine other promising writers, Dalle Abraham (Kenya), Nkiacha Atemnkeng (Cameroon), Akwaeke Emezi (Nigeria), Timothy Kiprop Kimutai (Kenya), Jonathan Mbuna (Malawi), and Jonathan Dotse, Jemila Abdulai, Aisha Nelson and Nana Nyarko Boateng (Ghana).

During the workshop, the writers will be expected to write a short story for the 2015 Caine Prize anthology, which will be published by New Internationalist on 1 July 2015, and subsequently by nine co-publishers in Africa who will receive a print-ready PDF free of charge. Stories conceived at annual workshops are automatically entered for the following year’s Caine Prize.

Matt Lilley, CEO of Prudential Africa, said: “I am delighted that Prudential Africa is working with the Caine Prize to promote the richness and diversity of African writing in English. Prudential Africa is committed to investing in education and we look forward to working with the Caine Prize to nurture and inspire the next generation of writers.”

Additional support for the workshop is provided by Commonwealth Writers, the Beit Trust, the Morel Trust, Sub-Saharan Publishers, Writers Project Ghana, and the Goethe Institut, the cultural institute of the Federal Republic of Germany.

Ellah Wakatama Allfrey OBE, Deputy Chairperson of the Caine Prize, said: “As investment in Africa’s growing economies expands it is excellent to see the support businesses can provide to the arts, especially literature, and writing and reading, as part of their corporate social responsibility goals.”

Director of the Caine Prize, Dr Lizzy Attree said: “The success of the co-publishing arrangement with Sub-Saharan Publishers in Ghana, which has sold over 25,000 copies of Caine Prize anthologies in the last 18 months, suggests there is a great appetite for literature in Ghana, and yet there have been no Ghanaian Caine Prize winners to date. We hope that holding the first workshop in Ghana since 2009 will encourage entries from Ghanaian writers and strengthen local literary networks.”

The programme will include two public events. The first will be at the Coconut Grove Hotel in Elmina at 6pm on Friday, 17 April and the second will be at the Goethe Institut in Accra at 6pm on Saturday, 18 April.

The workshops will also incorporate visits to local senior and junior schools in the Elmina/Cape Coast area, offering students an opportunity to meet the writers and exchange ideas about writing and literature.

Notes to editors

The Caine Prize is awarded for a short story by an African writer published in English (indicative length 3,000 to 10,000 words). An African writer is taken to mean someone who was born in Africa, or who is a national of an African country, or who has a parent who is African by birth or nationality.

The African winners of the Nobel Prize for Literature, Wole Soyinka and J M Coetzee, are Patrons of the Caine Prize. Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne is President of the Council with Ben Okri OBE as Vice President, Jonathan Taylor CBE, Chairman, Ellah Wakatama Allfrey OBE, Deputy Chairperson, and Dr Lizzy Attree, Director.

The stories written at Caine Prize workshops are published annually alongside the Prize’s shortlisted stories by New Internationalist in the UK and publishers in eight Africa countries: ‘amaBooks (Zimbabwe), Gadsden Publishers (Zambia), Cassava Republic (Nigeria), FEMRITE (Uganda), Jacana Media (South Africa), Kwani? (Kenya), Langaa Research and Publishing CIG (Cameroon), Lantern Books (Nigeria) and Sub-Saharan Publishers (Ghana). Books are available from the publishers or from the Africa Book Centre, African Books Collective or Amazon.

Twelve workshops have been held to date, one a year from 2003, four of them in South Africa, four in Kenya, and one in Cameroon, Ghana, Uganda and Zimbabwe. The 2014 workshop was held in Zimbabwe and further workshops are planned elsewhere in Africa in the coming years.

The Caine Prize is principally supported by The Oppenheimer Memorial Trust, The Miles Morland Foundation, the Booker Prize Foundation, Sigrid Rausing & Eric Abraham, Prudential, Groupe Nduom, and CSL Stockbrokers. Other funders and partners include The Beit Trust, Commonwealth Writers, an initiative of the Commonwealth Foundation, The British Council, the Morel Trust, the Bodleian Library, Georgetown University (USA), The Lannan Center for Poetics and Social Practice, the Royal Over-Seas League, The Lennox and Wyfold Foundation and Kenya Airways.

Groupe Nduom are a family business group of Ghanaian and American origin operating in the financial, hospitality, media and other industries.

Prudential plc is incorporated in England and Wales, and its affiliated companies constitute one of the world’s leading financial service groups serving around 24 million customers. It has £496 billion of assets under management (as at 31 December 2014). Prudential plc is listed on the stock exchanges in London, Hong Kong, Singapore and New York. Prudential plc is not affiliated in any manner with Prudential Financial, Inc., a company whose principal place of business is in the United States of America.

Previous winners are Sudan’s Leila Aboulela (2000), Nigerian Helon Habila (2001), Kenyan Binyavanga Wainaina (2002), Kenyan Yvonne Owuor (2003), Zimbabwean Brian Chikwava (2004), Nigerian Segun Afolabi (2005), South African Mary Watson (2006), Ugandan Monica Arac de Nyeko (2007), South African Henrietta Rose-Innes (2008), Nigerian EC Osondu (2009), Sierra Leonean Olufemi Terry (2010), Zimbabwean NoViolet Bulawayo (2011), Nigerian Rotimi Babatunde (2012), Nigerian Tope Folarin (2013) and Kenyan Okwiri Oduor (2014).

For further information please contact:
Jenny Casswell
Raitt Orr & Associates
Tel: +44(0)207 250 8296/ Mob: +44(0)7796 131447

Follow us on Twitter (@CainePrize), Facebook and www.caineprize.com Read our blog http://caineprize.blogspot.co.uk